My First Youtube ‘Hit Video’. Beetle Swarms In Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast.

This came courtesy of some coverage in goldcoast.com.au website, when they ran a story on the incident.

A video I took in Surfers Paradise of a swarm of beetles.  I tweeted the local newspaper about the phenomenon, but got a fairly cool reception.  That evening I posted the clips on Youtube and then went over to a friends place for some drinks.  By the time I returned home the next day, the Gold Coast Bulletin website, www.goldcoast.com.au had sent me a tweet requesting the url for the video, as apparently in the light of day it was a good story.  They managed to find the video on Youtube without me and used it on their website in the story.  It then became a bit of a minor hit.  I found it very interesting watching it’s slow spread across the world using the Youtube insight feature for personally uploaded videos.

I took the video on my Nokia N95 mobile phone.

The video came in two parts and the second part can be found here

This entry was posted in Beetle Swarms, Video, YouTube Video Favourites and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Youtube ‘Hit Video’. Beetle Swarms In Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast.

  1. Hi! I am a with a BBC Crew making a series about weird events in nature, caught on camera. We’d love to get in touch with you about the footage you captured and hear a bit more about where and when it all happened. I know its a few years on now but we’d like to link this to another, more recent beetle swarm in Argentina.
    Could you drop me a note back?
    All the best,
    Leah

Leave a comment